Simple Prop Timer Switch

Most automated props and most scare zones in a haunted house depend on two critical, interdependent factors.  They need a trigger (aka signal) and a timer switch.  The trigger does very little.  It simply sends a signal to the timer switch.  The timer switch then switches power on/off for a predetermined amount of time.

Most store-bought props have a timer switch and trigger built-in.  Which is great; except that the triggers on most store bought props are complete crap.  But that’s a different topic for another time.

In my haunted houses, I use the timer switch to turn on lights, strobes or spot lights that in turn trigger my props.  It works pretty well since the haunted house is almost completely dark during the rest of the time.  Because of my space limitations, putting even a small, LED spot on a prop would announce its presence way too soon and ruin the scare.

I have yet to use the timer switch to start audio of some sort.  I may introduce it next year.

Anyway, I highly recommend the simple timer from FrightProps.  It’s inexpensive (in relative terms), flexible and reliable.  If interested, check out the link here.  FrightProps is an excellent resource for any DIY haunted houser.

If you find the electronics jargon a bit confusing, don’t be intimidated.  I was completely confused at first but found my first couple of projects to be pretty easy.  I’ll share them here in future posts.

Leave a comment